Reserved Accessible Spaces
Accessible parking spaces on campus are exclusively for those persons displaying state-authorized Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) disabled placards or plates. These permits are available to any individual who has a disability lasting six weeks or longer in duration. Only a state DMV disabled placard or plate allows parking in accessible spaces and free parking at metered spaces for visitors.
The university’s interactive campus map includes accessible parking information.
Faculty, staff, or students displaying a DMV disabled placard or plate are also required to display a Virginia Tech parking permit when parking on the campus.
Unauthorized vehicles parked in accessible spaces will be ticketed and towed at the owner’s expense.
Disabled individuals may also use the Blacksburg Transit Para-Transit system, which has lift-equipped vehicles for on and off campus transportation needs. For more information, contact Blacksburg Transit at 540-961-1803.
Temporary Medical Disability Permits
A Virginia Tech temporary medical disability permit (TMD) is available for students having mobility impairments lasting six weeks or less. If the disability qualifies for a disabled permit, it should be obtained from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. Virginia State law prohibits the use of temporary medical disability permits at handicap spaces at any time.
The temporary medical disability permit is valid only with a Virginia Tech commuter, graduate, or resident parking permit and allows students to park in any faculty/staff areas. Persons with a temporary medical disability permit may park in metered spaces as long as the meter is paid.
A temporary medical disability permit can be obtained at the Office of Parking and Transportation by completing a request form and presenting a request slip from Student Health Services or a doctor’s statement. This documentation must include how long the disability requires special parking. Temporary medical disability permits can only be issued for a six week period. If a special needs permit is needed for longer than six weeks, the student will need to contact the Department of Motor Vehicles to inquire about a handicap permit.
Unauthorized use of a temporary medical disability permit carries a $150 fine to the person wrongfully displaying the permit.
There is a $5 replacement charge on permits that are lost or stolen.
If an individual requires special assistance, the Office of Parking and Transportation should be contacted for special arrangements.