Loading player for /content/dam/parking_vt_edu/AvoidTicket.mp4...

All citations need to be paid or appealed within 10 calendar days. Failure to pay the citation and formally appeal negates any right to further address the citation. Paying a ticket is not an admission of guilt. If after review the ticket is overturned, a refund will be mailed to the appellant.

List of Citation Fines

Citation Description
Citation Fine

Warning

0

Bicycle

$25

Expired Meter

$30

Parking in an Unauthorized Area  

$35

Parking on a Yellow Line or Curb  

$35

Parking in a No Parking Zone

$35

Parking in a Roadway

$35

Other or Service Vehicle Only

$35

Overtime Parking

$35

Fire, Bus, or Air Intake Lane

$65

Parking in a Handicap Zone

$150

Unauthorized Use of Permit

$150

If the Office of Parking and Transportation does not receive payment for fines within 10 days from the date of citation issuance, an additional, one–time $10 late fee will accrue. Payments sent through the United States Postal Service must be postmarked within seven days of citation issuance. Payments sent through campus mail must be received by the 10th day of citation issuance. Lost, stolen, or misplaced citations do not excuse the late fee.

All student accounts with citations 10 days past due will be blocked regardless of the amount. Accounts must be paid in full for the block to be removed. In addition to blocking accounts, grade transcripts may be withheld until the account is paid in full.

Faculty and staff fines may be handled as a payroll deduction, as an offset against the Commonwealth of Virginia Vendor Debt Setoff Program, and/or assessed against any other money due you from the university. Nonpayment of fines may result in blocked class registration and/or withheld grade transcripts. Outstanding fines may also be given to a collection agency. Accounts sent to collections will be assessed an additional collection cost.

When a vehicle is found to be in violation, fines are assessed to:

  • the person, company, corporation, or firm in whose name the vehicle is registered with at the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles or the corresponding agency of another state or nation
  • the person who purchased the University permit displayed on the vehicle
  • the son, daughter, spouse, or ward of the registered owner enrolled in or employed at Virginia Tech

Payment of Parking Fines

Parking fines may be paid by cash, Visa, MasterCard, or check payable to Treasurer, Virginia Tech.

Individuals may:

  • Pay in person at 605 Research Center Drive or online
  • Mail citation and payment through the United States Postal Service.
    • The payment envelope must be postmarked no later than seven days from the date of citation issuance to avoid a late fee.
    • Mail to:
      Parking and Transportation (0540)
      605 Research Center Drive
      Virginia Tech
      Blacksburg, VA 24061
  • Deposit the citation and payment in the lock box outside the Office of Parking and Transportation. Payment must be received at the Office of Parking and Transportation by the 10th day of citation issuance to avoid a late fee. Payments dropped off in the lock box will be taken to the Office of Parking and Transportation on the next business day

Mail citation and payment through campus mail to the Office of Parking and Transportation, campus mail code 0540. Payment must be received by the 10th day of citation issuance to avoid a late fee.

Towing and Booting Policy

Learn more about the Office of Parking and Transportation towing and booting policy.